The Development of the Chakras


‘Chakra (or lotus flower)’ is the sanskrit name for the vortexes of energy spaced throughout our body that regulate our spiritual organism. I use the word ‘organism’ here very intentionally, because the development of the chakras entails the birth of a spiritual Organ, a new object that had only been there IN POTENTIA before, but that has now manifested on the spiritual-energetic plane.

There are seven major chakras in total. Actually, according to Rudolf Steiner, there are six. He unites 2 chakras in 1: the crown chakra and third eye chakra. Here is the traditional classification:

1. CROWN CHAKRA (Sahaswara): The chakra at the top of our heads, it acts like an umbilical cord to the Spirit.
2. THIRD EYE CHAKRA (Ajna): Located in between our eyes, it regulates our intuitive connection with Higher Beings and the spiritual worlds.
3. THROAT CHAKRA (Vishudi): Regulates our communication and speech patterns.
4. HEART CHAKRA (Anahata): The birth-place of Higher Feelings.
5. SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA (Manipura): Located above the abdomen, it is the seat of our will-power.
6. SACRAL CHAKRA (Swadisthana): Located right above our navel. It regulates our emotion and is the seat of our sexuality.
7. ROOT CHAKRA (Muladhara): Located right above our sexual organs. It is what connects us to the earth, what powers our legs and also our instinct for survival.

The chakras of an individual who is unconscious of spiritual realities, truths, yearnings, and/or has a poor feeling life are usually dull, static, and the petals are completely undeveloped on one side. When spiritual awakening begins, however, the petals of the undeveloped side of the lotus flowers start to grow. These new spiritual organs start to develop, and then the whole chakra begins to rotate. When the chakras start rotating, the individual grows aware not only of the currents of spiritual energy around him, but also starts actively cooperating and trading in these currents.

He develops a first-hand relationship with the spiritual world.
Rudolf Steiner put special emphasis on the development of the Third Eye Chakra, the Throat Chakra, and the Heart Chakra in his book How To Know Higher Worlds, implying that if these three chakras are properly developed, then the rest of the chakras will also naturally follow suit.

Fundamentally, the Third Eye Chakra can be developed through the practice of Reverence to everything that is higher than us, because Reverence (or Devotion) is the feeling or mood of soul that enables us to Intuitively connect with the superior forces that we are respectfully approaching.

The Throat Chakra is developed through the purification of speech, and the Heart Chakra through the nurturing of Higher Feelings towards the whole world.

The birth of the petals on the undeveloped side of the lotus flowers is a delicate matter. Sometimes these petals start growing and then wither away because the individual in question stopped progressing spiritually for some reason. Maybe due to an internal block or trauma that he karmically has to work through, or maybe due to some other issue. Whatever it is, the development of true and sturdy petals depends entirely on the inner transformation of the individual, which means the Birth of his Higher Self into ordinary consciousness.

AKA Initiation.

It is only after the individual has transformed himself internally that the chakras start rotating, not before. It is only after initiation that he starts having a direct relationship with the spiritual world… through the use of his rotating chakras.

What type of initiation am I talking about?

Because there’s several, you know. At the lower level there’s three: The Fire Trial, The Water Trial, and the Air Trial.

I’m talking about the initiation achieved after successfully passing the Fire Trial. The individual has to at least have burned away everything inessential in himself to be able to actively cooperate with spiritual forces, and work from the spiritual world. But this is a topic for another post.

One thought on “The Development of the Chakras

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s